Where Are They Now?

26 Nov 2010

Not the Same Old Tuna – #3
PA – 2, The International Commission for the Conservation of Atlantic Tunas and its adjacent seas – ICCAT.
17th -27th November Paris

During the Panel session number 2, responsible for the conservation of bluefin tuna, the fate of the ships announced as “removed” was often mentioned. The EU, for example, announced that 126 purse seine vessels and 130 longline vessels have been “removed” from the bluefin tuna fleet between 2008 and 2010, without giving precise information on the ships’ demolition, conversion or any other mode of decommissioning. Contracting parties from the Eastern Mediterranean also announced the “removal” of fishing boats and tugs assigned to transporting cages without providing detailed information on their demolition or their redeployment for another purpose.

It appears that these loopholes are not, strictly speaking, dealt with as deficiencies or nonconformities within the plan to restore bluefin tuna populations which was implemented by ICCAT. However, exact information of the ships fates would be useful, and would foster mutual confidence, validating each countries plan to reduce their capacity and as well as that of the EU.

This is why Robin des Bois suggests that the EU, which has a subsidized plan on the dismantlement of ships, officially publishes an up to date list of ship-breaking yards where purse seine ships and longline ships have been destroyed, thus paving the way for transparency for other contracting parties.

Since 2006 Robin des Bois has regularly published an inventory of all ships with an IMO number leaving to be broken up – see bulletin “ship-breaking.com”, which is available at www.robindesbois.org –. This inventory does not pretend to be exhaustive, but it is nevertheless significant that between January 1st, 2006 and October 15th, 2010, out of 2,798 ships (all categories included) heading to be dismantled; only 52 were fishing boats. It should be pointed out that out of these 52 fishing boats, 7 boats were caught fishing illegally and banned from fishing or docking at a port of a Member State of the North-East Atlantic Fisheries Commission (NEAFC) – see bulletin “Ship-breaking.com” #10 –. To demonstrate, one of the ships sent to demolition was the Guinean Inaara, built in Japan in 1972 and recorded by the Indian Ocean Tuna Committee as a vessel fishing for tunas then transferred to the South Atlantic Ocean – see “Ship-breaking.com” #21, page 8.

Robin des Bois therefore encourages ICCAT and its contracting parties to undertake efforts to improve the traceability of withdrawn fishing boats and considers this step a reinforcement of the battle against illegal fishing in the area of ICCAT and the other Regional Organizations of Fishing Management.

 

 

 

 

Imprimer cet article Imprimer cet article

Que sont ils devenus ?

26 nov. 2010

Liberté de Thon – n°3
PA – 2, Commission Internationale pour la Conservation des Thonidés de l’Atlantique et des eaux adjacentes – CICTA.
17-27 novembre, Paris.

Dans la sous-commission numéro 2 consacrée à la réduction des capacités de pêche au thon rouge, la question du sort réservé aux navires annoncés comme « radiés » a été souvent évoquée. L’Union Européenne a par exemple annoncé que 126 senneurs et 130 palangriers avaient été retirés du secteur de la pêche au thon rouge entre 2008 et 2010, sans pour autant donner des informations précises sur la démolition, la reconversion ou les autres modalités de désarmement des navires. Des Etats-membres de la Méditerranée orientale ont aussi annoncé des retraits de remorqueurs consacrés au convoyage de cages d’engraissement ou de navires de pêche sans délivrer d’informations précises sur leur démolition ou leur redéploiement vers d’autres activités.

Il apparaît que ces lacunes ne sont pas à proprement parler des manquements ou des non-conformités au plan de restauration des populations de thon rouge mis en œuvre par la CICTA mais il apparait aussi que des informations précises seraient utiles et permettraient de consolider la confiance mutuelle et le crédit de chaque plan national de réduction des capacités et de celui de l’Union Européenne.

C’est pourquoi Robin des Bois souhaite que l’Union Européenne qui a une stratégie subventionnée de démantèlement publie effectivement dans des délais rapides la liste des chantiers où les senneurs et les palangriers ont été détruits et ouvre ainsi la voie de la transparence aux autres parties contractantes de la CICTA.

Depuis 2006, Robin des Bois publie un inventaire de tous les navires partis à la casse et dotés d’un numéro OMI – cf bulletin « A la Casse.com » disponible sur www.robindesbois.org -. Cet inventaire ne prétend pas à l’exhaustivité mais il est cependant significatif que sur 2798 navires, toutes catégories confondues, partis à la casse entre le 1er janvier 2006 et le 15 octobre 2010 seulement 52 étaient des navires de pêche. On relève parmi eux 7 navires surpris en flagrant délit de pêche illégale et interdits de pêcher ou d’accoster dans un port des pays membres de la Commission des Pêches de l’Atlantique du Nord-est (NEAFC) – cf. le bulletin A la casse.com n°10 – et à titre d’exemple un thonier guinéen construit en 1972 au japon, l’Inaara, enregistré par la Commission des Thons de l’Océan Indien (IOTC) puis transféré dans l’océan Atlantique sud – cf « A la Casse.com » n°21, page 8.

Robin des Bois encourage donc la CICTA et ses parties contractantes à entreprendre des efforts pour améliorer la traçabilité des navires de pêche désaffectés et voit dans cette démarche un renforcement de la lutte contre la pêche illégale dans le périmètre de la CICTA et des autres Organisations Régionales de Gestion de la Pêche.

 

 

 

 

Imprimer cet article Imprimer cet article