- Robin des Bois - http://www.robindesbois.org/en -

Probo Koala : The Death Boat heading to the Cemetery

The Probo Koala vessel which spread death and panic in Abidjan during the summer of 2006 has just been sold by her last owner to a demolisher in Bangladesh for $ 7.7 million. Currently off the coast of China, she should be beached in Chittagong under the name of Gulf Jash within the next few days. The Greek owner had in fact sold the Probo Koala to Gulf Navigation based in Dubai.

Built in 1989, at Korean Shipbuilding & Engineering shipyards, the Probo Koala was used by the multinational company Trafigura to produce low-grade gasoline from highly sulphurised oil off the coast of Gibraltar and Malta. The toxic residue produced by these onboard refinery operations was unloaded in August 2006 at the Abidjan port. Scattered around the Ivory Coast economic capital, the residue containing hydrogen sulphide and mercaptans caused the death of 17 people and intoxicated over one hundred thousand others, according to the official figures.

Before heading for Africa, Trafigura had attempted to offload the residue onboard the Probo Koala at the port of Amsterdam and made a second European stop at Paldiski. The responsibility of the Netherlands and Estonia in the Abidjan disaster has never been recognised, the European Commission called upon by Robin des Bois and Sherpa refused to pursue the two countries. To date there remains 2,000 to 3,000 tonnes of waste on the Ivory Coast stored outdoors in weather beaten bags, protected from human contact by broken down fences. Robin des Bois has once again called on the European Environment Commissioner in February 2011 requesting that the remaining waste be returned to Europe in compliance with the October 2006 European Parliament Resolution.

The Probo Koala is the symbol of exporting dangerous waste to countries that do not have the necessary means to treat them. Faithful to her bad reputation the Probo Koala will be beached on the mud of the marine cemetery at Chittagong. For the last time she will expose workers to health and safety risks, that is if the Bangladesh authorities, informed of her imminent arrival by Robin des Bois, authorise her wrecking.

+ Non exhaustive list of hazardous substances onboard or likely to be onboard. 18 May 2011. [1](pdf)

The shocking odyssey of the Probo Koala has been told in The shameful Ship published by Stock, co-written by Charlotte Nithart, manager of Robin des Bois, and Bernard Dussol, reporter with the co-operation of Jacky Bonnemains. (Available in French only).

Robin des Bois will publish Thursday May 19th number 23 of the “Ship-breaking.Com” quarterly information and analysis bulletin on end-of-life ships. (English version to follow) .

- Robin des Bois - http://www.robindesbois.org -

Probo Koala : le bateau de la mort en route pour le cimetière

Le Probo Koala, navire qui a semé la mort et la panique à Abidjan pendant l’été 2006 vient d’être vendu par son propriétaire à un démolisseur au Bangladesh pour 7,7 millions de dollars. Actuellement au large de la Chine, il devrait s’échouer sur les plages de Chittagong dans les prochains jours sous le nom de Gulf Jash. Le propriétaire grec du Probo Koala l’avait en effet revendu à la Gulf Navigation à Dubaï, base avancée des armateurs européens en Asie. Deux sister-ships du Probo Koala vont subir le même sort (l’ex-Probo Panda et l’ex-Probo Bison).

Construit en 1989 dans les chantiers de la Korean Shipbuilding & Engineering, le Probo Koala a été utilisé par la multinationale Trafigura pour produire de l’essence de basse qualité à partir de produits pétroliers soufrés au large de Gibraltar et de Malte. Les résidus toxiques de ces opérations de raffinage ont été débarqués dans le port d’Abidjan en août 2006. Semés aux quatre coins de la capitale économique de la Côte d’Ivoire, les déchets contenant de l’hydrogène sulfuré et du mercaptan ont provoqué selon le bilan officiel 17 décès et plus de cent mille intoxications.

Avant de faire route vers l’Afrique, Trafigura avait tenté de débarquer les déchets du Probo Koala dans le port d’Amsterdam et fait une autre escale européenne à Paldiski. La responsabilité des Pays-Bas et de l’Estonie dans le désastre d’Abidjan n’a jamais été reconnue, la Commission Européenne saisie par Robin des Bois et Sherpa ayant refusé de poursuivre ces deux pays. Il reste encore en Côte d’Ivoire 2000 à 3000 tonnes de déchets stockés en plein air dans des sacs qui s’éventrent, protégés des incursions directes par des clôtures précaires. Robin des Bois a de nouveau saisi le Commissaire à l’Environnement européen en février 2011 pour que ces déchets soient rapatriés en Europe conformément à une résolution du Parlement Européen d’octobre 2006.

Le Probo Koala est le symbole de l’exportation de déchets dangereux vers des pays qui ne disposent pas des moyens adaptés à leur traitement. Fidèle à sa mauvaise réputation, il va s’échouer dans les vases du cimetière marin de Chittagong alors que les activités de démolition viennent d’y reprendre. Pour une dernière fois il exposera les ouvriers à des risques sanitaires, si les autorités du Bangladesh informées de son arrivée imminente par Robin des Bois autorisent son échouage.

=> Liste non exhaustive des matières dangereuses présentes ou susceptibles d’être présentes à bord 18 mai (pdf) [1]

Accès à tous les communiqués Robin des Bois sur le Probo Koala. [2]

L’effroyable odyssée du Probo Koala a été racontée dans « Le Cargo de la Honte » paru chez Stock, co-écrit par Charlotte Nithart, directrice de Robin des Bois, et Bernard Dussol, journaliste, avec la participation de Jacky Bonnemains.

Robin des Bois diffusera jeudi 19 mai le 23ème numéro d’ « A la casse.com », le bulletin trimestriel d’information et d’analyse sur la démolition des navires.