- Robin des Bois - http://www.robindesbois.org/en -

Hazardous Materials Onboard the MSC Flaminia

MSC Flaminia
Press Realease # 8

 

MSC Flaminia is a floating logistic warehouse. Its counterpart ground project would be subject to the Seveso Directive with strict regulation concerning construction and organizational requirements; such as fireproof walls, isolation distances between classes of hazardous materials, an internal organisation plan, a specific response plan including the intervention of external emergency resources. Fires in Seveso type plants on land requires the evacuation of people and the implementation of safety measures touching on the consumption of food produced in a perameter that can sometimes range quite far.

Furthermore, The fire of MSC Flaminia produced atmospheric pollution that has not been measured yet, despite what may think the everlasting experts of dilution, has an impact on the health and development of aquatic organisms. The fire raged from July 14th to July 20th , while the smoldering fires in containers lasted at least until 24 August.

Hazardous materials are classified by international regulations applicable to all states and all transportation modes into 9 classes.

MSC Flaminia officially carried:
– Class 3 flammable liquids. It must be taken into account that when flammable materials are burned, they emit toxic fumes. 33 containers.
Example: nitromethane, intermediate materials of perfumery, paints, etc.
– Class 2 compressed, liquefied or dissolved under pressure gases. 2 containers of Class 2.1 (flammable gas), 14 containers of Class 2.2 (flammable gas), and 1 container 2.3 (poisonous gas). Example: aerosol bomb and methyl bromide with less than 2% chloropicrin.
– Class 4.1, Flammable solids. 1 container.
– Class 4.2, substances liable to spontaneous combustion. 3 containers. Example: phosphorus.
– Class 4.3, Substances evolving flammable gas on contact with water. 1 container: Sodium
– Class 6.1, substances toxic to humans. 18 containers. Examples: soluble compound of lead, butyronitrile.
– Class 8 corrosive materials that attack skin, mucous membranes or eyes and can cause damage to cargo transport. 34 containers.
– Class 9, it covers substances and objects that might represent health and environmental “risks different from those of other classes.” It includes, for example, asbestos, PCBs, lithium batteries, material with flammable vapors. 42 containers. Examples: polystyrene granules, air-bag gas. 2 containers of PCB.

Classes of hazardous materials are not strictly seperated. Liquids classified as flammable as well as flammable solids can be also toxic; the gas can be toxic (eg. methyl bromide containing chloropicrin). The materials in class 9, such as polystyrene granules can also be dispersed in the environment and represent a direct threat for feeding.

The number of containers set out to sea at the time of the initial explosion is unknown.

Hazardous materials onboard MSC Flaminia.
=> List of hazardous materials onboard MSC Flaminia – Source Maritime Bulletin (pdf) [1]

- Robin des Bois - http://www.robindesbois.org -

Matières dangereuses à bord du MSC Flaminia

MSC Flaminia
Communiqué n° 8

 

Le MSC Flaminia est un entrepôt logistique flottant. Son équivalent terrestre serait assujetti à la directive Seveso avec des prescriptions constructives et organisationnelles strictes, des murs coupe-feu, des distances d’isolement entre les classes de matières dangereuses, un Plan d’Organisation Interne, un Plan Particulier d’Intervention impliquant l’intervention des moyens de secours externes. Les incendies d’usines Seveso à terre conduisent à l’évacuation des populations et à des mesures de précaution sur la consommation des denrées produites dans un périmètre parfois éloigné.

L’incendie du MSC Flaminia a produit une pollution atmosphérique qui n’a pas été mesurée et qui, quoiqu’en pensent les éternels experts en dilution, a un impact sur l’état sanitaire ou le développement des organismes aquatiques. L’incendie a fait rage du 14 juillet au 20 juillet, les feux couvant dans les conteneurs ont duré au moins jusqu’au 24 août.

Les matières dangereuses sont réparties par la réglementation internationale s’appliquant à tous les pays et à tous les modes transports en 9 classes de dangers. Le MSC Flaminia transporte officiellement :
– Classe 3, matières liquides inflammables. Il doit être pris en compte que les matières inflammables, quand elles brûlent, dégagent des émanations toxiques. 33 conteneurs. Exemple : nitrométhane, matières intermédiaires de parfumerie, peintures…
– Classe 2, gaz comprimés, liquéfiés ou dissous sous pression. 2 conteneurs de classe 2.1 (gaz inflammable), 14 conteneurs de classe 2.2 (gaz ininflammable), et 1 conteneur de 2.3 (gaz toxique). Exemple : bombe aérosols et bromure de méthyle avec moins de 2% de chloropicrine.
– Classe 4.1, solides inflammables. 1 conteneur.
– Classe 4.2, matières sujettes à inflammation spontanée. 3 conteneurs. Exemple : phosphore.
– Classe 4.3, matières dégageant des gaz inflammables au contact de l’eau. 1 conteneur : Sodium
– Classe 6.1, matières toxiques pour l’homme. 18 conteneurs. Exemples : composé soluble de plomb, butyronitrile.
– Classe 8, matières corrosives qui attaquent la peau, les muqueuses ou les yeux et peuvent provoquer des dommages aux engins de transport. 34 conteneurs.
– Classe 9, elle recouvre les matières et objets représentant pour la santé et l’environnement des « risques différents de ceux des autres classes ». On y retrouve par exemple l’amiante, les PCB, les piles au lithium, les matières dégageant des vapeurs inflammables. 42 conteneurs. Exemples : granulés de polystyrène, gaz d’airbag, 2 conteneurs de PCB.

Les classes de dangers des matières dangereuses ne sont pas strictement cloisonnées. Les liquides classés comme inflammables de même que les solides inflammables peuvent être toxiques ; les gaz peuvent être toxiques (exemple le bromure de méthyle contenant de la chloropicrine), les matières classées 9 comme les granulés de polystyrène peuvent aussi être dispersées dans l’environnement et représenter un danger direct pour l’alimentation.

Le nombre de conteneurs partis à la mer au moment de l’explosion initiale est inconnu.

=> Liste des matières dangereuses à bord du MSC Flaminia – Source Maritime Bulletin [1] (pdf diffusé le 30 août)