- Robin des Bois - http://www.robindesbois.org/en -

Old ferries exported in the Tropics at the end of their lives continue to routinely kill dozens of passengers

Old ferries exported in the Tropics at the end of their lives continue to routinely kill dozens of passengers. Cameroon and the Philippines have just been hit by deadly accidents.

August 25, 2019.
The Cameroon-flagged Austrheim left Calabar (Cross River State, Nigeria) bound for Tiko (South West Province, Cameroon). Depending on the sources, between 132 and 200 passengers and crew members were on board. Caught in strong winds during the night of August 25, the ferry struck a sandbank and capsized off the Bukassi peninsula. 111 people were rescued by the Cameroonian Navy and Nigerian fishermen. 17 bodies have been recovered so far.

Built in 1971 in Leirvik (Norway) by  Løland Verft A/S, 45,5 m in length, the Austrheim, ex-Kvitsoy, ex-Finnoy (IMO 7105005) left Northern Europe in 2012 after she was sold by her Norwegian owner to a Cameroonian company.

August 28, 2019.
After departing Cebu, the Lite Ferry 16 was about to arrive at the port of Dapitan. Shortly after midnight, a fire broke out in the engine room and spread throughout the vessel. A number of passengers jumped into the water. They were rescued within an hour by a fast ferry, the FastCat, which was diverted after receiving the mayday from Lite Ferry 16.
The death toll is still uncertain. A first manifest listed 136 passengers. An additional manifest added 65 passengers and 38 crew members, i.e. a total of 239. The latest Coast Guard report says that there were 271 people on board. 222 people were reportedly rescued.
The Lite Ferry 16 had 19 tons of bunker fuel in her tanks.
The Lite Ferry 16 was acquired in 2015-2016 by the Filippino Lite Shipping Company from the Chinese Hainan Strait Shipping Company.

[3]

Lite Ferry 16, September 1, 2017 © Philippines Ship Spotters Society

[4]

Lite Ferry 16, August 28, 2019 © Allan Barredo

 

See also on this issue the report by Robin des Bois:
2008-2018, maritime and waterway passenger transport, more than 12,000 dead [5]

- Robin des Bois - http://www.robindesbois.org -

Les vieux ferries exportés en fin de vie sous les tropiques continuent de tuer en routine des dizaines des passagers

Les vieux ferries exportés en fin de vie sous les tropiques continuent de tuer en routine des dizaines des passagers. Le Cameroun et les Philippines viennent d’être frappés.

25 août 2019.
L’Austrheim sous pavillon du Cameroun quitte Calabar (État de Cross River, Nigéria) à destination de Tiko (Province du Sud-Ouest, Cameroun). Il avait embarqué selon les sources entre 132 et 200 passagers et membres d’équipage. Pris dans des vents violents dans la nuit du 25 août, il heurte un banc de sable et se retourne au large de la péninsule de Bukassi. 111 personnes ont été secourues par la Marine camerounaise et des pêcheurs nigérians. 17 corps ont été retrouvés.

Construit en 1971 à Leirvik (Norvège) par  Løland Verft A/S, d’une longueur de 45,5 m, l’Austrheim, ex-Kvitsoy, ex-Finnoy (OMI 7105005) avait quitté l’Europe du Nord en 2012 après avoir été vendu par son armateur norvégien à une compagnie camerounaise.

 

28 août 2019.
Le Lite Ferry 16 venu de Cebu approche du port de Dapitan. Un peu après minuit, un incendie se déclare dans la salle des machines et s’étend à l’ensemble du navire. Une partie des passagers se jettent à l’eau. Ils sont secourus dans l’heure qui suit par un ferry rapide, le FastCat, qui s’est détourné après avoir reçu l’alerte du Lite Ferry 16.
Le bilan est incertain. Un premier manifeste fait état de 136 passagers. Un manifeste complémentaire ajoute 65 passagers et 38 membres d’équipage portant le total à 239. Le dernier bilan des garde-côtes comptabilise  271 personnes à bord. 222 auraient été secourues.
Le Lite Ferry 16 contenait 19 tonnes de fioul de propulsion.

Le Lite Ferry 16 avait été racheté en 2015-2016 par la Lite Shipping Company à la compagnie chinoise Hainan Strait Shipping Company.

 

 

Voir aussi sur ce sujet  le dossier de Robin des Bois:
« 2008-2018, transport maritime et fluvial de passagers, plus de 12.000 morts [5] »