- Robin des Bois - http://www.robindesbois.org/en -

The PCB Cookbook

Wearing their top chef’s hats, Ifremer, the General Department for Food, the Management of Maritime Fishing, and waterlife have made for you, just in time for New Year’s celebrations, a dish of the highest quality. It is recommended that you consume crabs fished from the depths of the Seine’s bay, and no longer adhere to the opinion of the National Agency for the Sanitation of Food, Work, and the Environment (ANSES) from May 13, 2011, and to forget the prefect of Haut-Normandie’s decree from July 29, 2011. According to the former, the crabs were considered not to conform to the regulated standards of polychlorinated biphenyl (PCB) and dioxin content, and the latter forbid both consumption and marketing.

The new opinion from ANSES, released November 16, 2011, and the new prefectural mandate from November 24, 2011 threw fresh light upon the contamination of the crabs from the Seine’s bay. The refined gourmets must now sort the white meat from the dark. The latter may be up to twenty times more contaminated than the former. It does well to the carapace to receive blows from surgical tools to separate the good from the bad. The cooks from ANSES recommend following scrupulously the barely accessible ”Guides to Practicing Good Hygeine” to avoid contaminating the white meat from the crab’s thorax with the brown.

Well, it is a good deal for the fishers of the Seine’s bay. The reauthorization to return to the markets is going to facilitate the acceptability of the imminent authorization to dump 2 million metersĀ³ of sludge containing PCB from the deepening of the channel of the Seine between Le Havre and Rouen, right in the middle of the Seine’s bay.

The situation is not so good for the crabs: the effects of their contamination by PCB on their health and their capacity to reproduce are not always studied, and these new opinions are going to stimulate the marketing of crab claws, to the detriment of the rest. After the practice of finning (cutting the fin from shark and sending it back into the water in its mutilated state), the practice of clawing (cutting off the pincers) is becoming widely accepted, favoring in this way the dumping of dismembered crabs, incapable of moving or feeding, into the depths.

Bad news as well for the consumers, who will buy by the kilo live or cooked crabs without being deducted from the important percentage of dark meat, clearly equivalent to PCB waste.

Thanks to the wand of Ifremer, another nutritious miracle is experimented on in the laboratories and the furnaces that must be made available soon under a new label: ”The Seine Bay’s Polluted Sardines”. Banned from being marketed since Febuary 8, 2010 because of PCB contamination, and rid of their internal organs, they will soon be, in the form of fillet, returning to the markets after a tasting from the committee of experts from ANSES and the endorsement of the prefect of Haute-Normandie.

- Robin des Bois - http://www.robindesbois.org -

Le guide gastronomique du PCB

Coiffés de leurs toques de grands chefs, Ifremer, la Direction Générale de l’Alimentation, la Direction des Pêches Maritimes et de l’Aquaculture vous ont concocté pour les fêtes de fin d’année un mets de premier choix. Il vous est recommandé la consommation de tourteaux pêchés dans les fonds pollués de la baie de Seine, de ne plus vous référer à l’avis de l’Anses du 13 mai 2011 et d’oublier l’arrêté du préfet de Haute Normandie du 29 juillet 2011. Selon le premier, les tourteaux étaient considérés comme non conformes aux limites réglementaires d’imprégnation aux PCB et aux dioxines et le second en interdisait la consommation et la commercialisation.

Le nouvel avis de l’Anses du 16 novembre 2011 et le nouvel arrêté préfectoral du 24 novembre 2011 éclairent d’un jour nouveau la contamination des tourteaux de la baie de Seine. Les fins gourmets doivent maintenant faire le tri entre la chair blanche et la chair brune. Cette dernière peut-être vingt fois plus contaminée que la chair blanche. Il convient à l’intérieur de la carapace d’avoir un coup de fourchette chirurgical pour séparer le blanc du brun. Les cuistots de l’Anses recommandent pour éviter la contamination de la chair blanche du thorax du crabe par la chair brune de respecter scrupuleusement des « Guides de Bonne Pratique d’Hygiène » au demeurant peu accessibles.

Une bonne affaire donc pour les pêcheurs de la baie de Seine . Cette réautorisation de mise sur le marché va faciliter l’acceptabilité de l’autorisation imminente du rejet expérimental en plein milieu de la baie de Seine de 2 millions de m3 de vases contenant des PCB en provenance du surcreusement du chenal de la Seine entre Le Havre et Rouen.

Une mauvaise affaire pour les crabes : les effets de leur contamination interne par les PCB sur leur état sanitaire et leur capacité de reproduction ne sont toujours pas étudiés et ces nouveaux avis vont stimuler la mise sur le marché de pinces de crabes, au détriment du reste. Après la pratique du finning (découpe de l’aileron de requin et rejets à la mer du squale mutilé), la pratique du clawing (découpe des pinces) va se généraliser favorisant ainsi le rejet de crabes démembrés et incapables de se mouvoir et de se nourrir dans les fonds.

Une mauvaise nouvelle aussi pour les consommateurs qui vont acheter au kilo des crabes vivants ou cuits sans que soit déduit le pourcentage important de chair brune équivalant manifestement à un déchet PCB.

Sous la baguette d’Ifremer, un autre miracle alimentaire est expérimenté dans les laboratoires et les fourneaux qui devrait déboucher bientôt sur un nouveau label : « les sardines polluées de la baie de Seine ». Interdites de commercialisation depuis le 8 février 2010 à cause de la contamination aux PCB et débarrassées de leurs viscères elles seront bientôt, sous forme de filets, rendues à la commercialisation après une dégustation du Comité d’experts de l’Anses et l’aval du préfet de Haute Normandie.