The Atomic cartel on the defensive

6 Jul 2018

Press release and map on the occasion of the Nobel Peace Prize ceremony, Sunday December 10th, awarding Madam Setsuko Thurlow, survivor of the atomic bombing of Hiroshima and Madam Beatrice Fihn, Executive Director of ICAN (International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons).

At present, 127 States have adopted or signed the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons. None of the nuclear-armed States took part in negotiations. Japan did not participate in the vote.

 

Only three States of the European Union as well as Switzerland followed through with their humanistic and pacific convictions. Sweden declared that anything short of adoption would be forfeiting an obligation. Austria proposed to host in Vienna, home to the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) headquarters, the first meeting for State parties. Ireland spoke of « a historic day».

After the treaty was adopted, South Africa declared to have been subject to « incredible pressure » to withdraw from the process. Argentina, Ecuador, Peru and also Iran regretted, while still adopting it, that the Treaty did not include a ban on transit through States parties and within their Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) of nuclear weapons belonging to a third State party.

On July 7th, 2017 in New York, just after the Treaty was adopted at the United Nations headquarters, permanent delegations from France, the United States and the United Kingdom published a common statement. The three western nuclear States confirmed that they did not intend to sign, ratify or be parties to the Treaty.  According to them, this new international instrument does not change in any way legal obligations and current practices regarding management of nuclear weapons. Following that, the three States decided their ambassadors in Norway would not take part in the 2017 Nobel Peace Prize ceremony.

The three preachers unambiguously declare this Treaty will become a new source of political instability pointing to the North Korean scarecrow while hazing out flaws in the atomic cartel. The United States, in this case, has still not ratified the Comprehensive nuclear Test Ban Treaty.

Under the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, it is forbidden to develop, produce, possess, purchase or transfer nuclear weapons. States parties to the Treaty pledge to destroy their atomic weapons or to convert them irreversibly. In some ways the Treaty mirrors the Convention prohibiting the development, production, acquisition, stockpiling, retention, transfer or use of chemical weapons and on their elimination.

******

See also :
“The Bastille Day is nuclear” –  July 14, 2017

 

 

 

 

 

Imprimer cet article Imprimer cet article

Le cartel atomique sur la défensive

6 juil. 2018

Première diffusion le 7 décembre 2017

Communiqué et cartographie à l’occasion de la remise du Prix Nobel de la Paix 2017, dimanche 10 décembre, à Madame Setsuko Thurlow, survivante du bombardement atomique d’Hiroshima et à Mme Beatrice Fihn, directrice exécutive de l’ICAN (International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons).

A ce jour, 127 pays ont adopté ou signé le Traité sur l’interdiction des armes nucléaires. Aucun pays détenteur du feu nucléaire n’a participé aux négociations. Le Japon n’a pas pris part au vote.

Seuls trois pays de l’Union Européenne ainsi que la Suisse sont allés au bout de leurs convictions humanistes et pacifiques. La Suède a déclaré que toute autre option que l’adoption aurait amené à s’affranchir d’une obligation. L’Autriche a proposé d’organiser à Vienne, siège de l’Agence Internationale de l’Énergie Atomique (AIEA), la première rencontre des pays signataires. L’Irlande a évoqué « un jour historique ».
Après l’adoption du Traité, l’Afrique du Sud a déclaré qu’elle avait subi des « pressions incroyables » l’incitant à se retirer du processus. L’Argentine, l’Équateur, le Pérou mais aussi l’Iran ont regretté, tout en l’adoptant, que le Traité n’interdise pas le transit dans les pays signataires et dans leurs Zones Économiques Exclusives (ZEE) d’armes atomiques appartenant à des pays-tiers.

Le 7 juillet 2017 à New York, aussitôt après l’adoption du Traité au siège de l’Organisation des Nations Unies, les représentations permanentes de la France, des États-Unis d’Amérique et du Royaume-Uni ont publié un communiqué commun. Les trois puissances nucléaires occidentales rappellent qu’elles n’ont pas l’intention de signer, de ratifier ou d’être parties au Traité. Selon elles, ce nouvel instrument international ne modifie en rien les obligations légales et les pratiques en vigueur dans la gestion des armes atomiques. Dans la continuité, les trois pays ont décidé que leurs ambassadeurs en Norvège ne participeront pas à la cérémonie de remise du Prix Nobel de la Paix 2017.
Les trois donneurs de leçons affirment sans ambages que ce Traité va être une nouvelle source d’instabilité politique et agitent le chiffon rouge Nord-Coréen tout en dissimulant les défaillances du cartel atomique. Les États-Unis, en l’occurrence, n’ont toujours pas ratifié le Traité sur l’interdiction complète des essais nucléaires.

Le Traité sur l’interdiction des armes nucléaires interdit de concevoir, de fabriquer, de posséder, d’acquérir ou de mettre à disposition des armes atomiques. Les pays parties au Traité s’engagent à détruire leurs armes atomiques ou à les convertir d’une manière irréversible. Le Traité est d’une certaine manière calqué sur la Convention sur l’interdiction de la mise au point, de la fabrication, du stockage et de l’emploi des armes chimiques et sur leur destruction.
* * *

Sur le même sujet :
« Non aux Bombes / Le 14 juillet est nucléaire », 14 juillet 2017.

 

 

 

Imprimer cet article Imprimer cet article