The defaunation on the move

24 Nov 2017

“On the Trail” n°18
Quarterly information and analysis bulletin on animal poaching and smuggling
748 events. July 1 to September 30, 2017
124 pages illustrated
pdf – 4.3 Mo
Original in French

 

KO and Ciao abalones (Haliotis spp.) – p.5
On August 7, the South African Department of Fisheries discontinued the granting of fishing licenses. Abalone catching falls into the hands of Cape Town gangs and the Chinese mafia. On the local marketplace, the price per kg has hit $400 US. It was $40 US in 2008. Violence and corruption are almost alone to flank the exploitation and then smuggling of the marine gastropods. Even the farms are looted.
The European Union, and in particular France, Spain, Italy, Portugal, and the United Kingdom, would be well-advised to carefully examine this black market, which started originally from recreational and subsistence fishing. They can learn from this example, in order to prevent the extinction of abalone and other rocks and tidal flats dependent species.

The pirate barometer – p.4-14
Kg of seahorses: $67 US
Kg of sea cucumbers: $155 US
Inch (2.54 cm) of narwhal tusk: $250 US
Kg of totoaba swim bladder (Appendix I): $14,000 US
Kg of hammerhead sharks fins (Appendix II): $103 US
Kg of eels (Appendix II): $2,440 US

Turtle break-ins and breakages – p.15
The forecast is very poor for marine turtles. They are lusted after as a whole: eggs, meat, scales, shells. No ocean is spared. The black market is violent. A new protector of leatherback turtles on the beaches was murdered in Central America. The largest seizure was made at Charles de Gaulle Airport in Paris, demonstrating once again that Europe, contrary to popular belief, is a trafficking hub.

Pangolins – p.37
The inclusion of eight pangolin species in Appendix I is in effect since January 2, 2017.
At the same time, the amount of scales seized during the third quarter of 2017 reached 17,602 kg, a record since the launch of “On the Trail,” far ahead of the preceding record set in the third quarter of 2016 at 9,888 kg of scales seized.
The demand is very high and has a long history. In China, 716 establishments have been authorized to prescribe pharmaceutical pangolin scales products (cf. “On the Trail” n°15 p. 43). Until that point, laboratories were supplied using genuine or falsified CITES permits.

© royotto_photography

Lions: green light for poachers – p.57
The decline of tigers in Asia has a domino effect on lions in Africa. The recent South African decision to authorize the annual exportation of 800 farmed lion skeletons has unleashed poachers. Poisoning and mutilation of wild and farmed lions are increasing in southern Africa. A lion skeleton sells for $3,000 US in the regional market, ten times higher in China where lion bones substitute for tiger bones in various recipes that are reputed to cure rheumatisms and sexual insufficiencies.
The strain on lions is also fueled by a local rumor that eating lion heart “scares away enemies and protects against attacks.”

Rhinoceros – p.68.
It’s True, Yet Without a Doubt, False
Testimonies from vendors and antique dealers interviewed by Elephant Action League show that rhino horns on the Chinese market are fake – at least 80%, that the rhino items for sale on WeChat are phoney, and that it is easy to find an expert complicit in the scheme to tell you it is a genuine horn even though he knows at first glance that it is fake. Counterfeit jewelry, antiques or horns are actually made with crushed resin, hooves and horsehair. Clandestine workshops have even managed to lure famous auction houses. Some prices on the fool’s market:

1 bowl : 42,000 US$
1 bracelet : 1,500 US$
4 bracelets (950 g) : 140 US$/g
Powder tablets : 260 to 440 US$/g
Pearls : 117 US$/g
Small sculpture : 103 US$/g

For the record, O’Brien, senior of the Irish gang Rathkeale Rovers, has a good knowledge of fake horns (cf. “On the Trail” n°16 p. 70).

Elephants – p.82
– Seizures increase: 15 tonnes for July, August, and September 2017.
– The price per kg of ivory seized falls, according to the taxation authorities in the affected States.
It is too early to draw lessons from these official quotes, which concern exclusively African elephants (Loxodonta africana). In Kampala (Uganda), a kg of raw ivory was valued at $112 US/kg in August while in July it was $1,470 US/kg.
-Poaching is on the rise in Southern Africa. In Central Africa, in the Nile basin and in Sahelian Africa, the shadow borne by civil wars prevents an accurate death toll for elephants, as well as for other profitable wildlife species. It is imprudent to claim that poaching is in decline on the African continent.
– Asian elephants (Elephas maximus) are no better off. They are harassed between and around the national parks, by the expansion of agriculture and illegal campsites. The black market extends to other by-products beyond male elephant tusks. Confetti made from elephant skin sells for $3.65 US, or $5,660 US per m2 in Myanmar.

Donkeys in Africa – p.121
After the pack, the slaughterhouse
The trafficking of domestic donkeys originating from the wild species continues to provoke demonstrations of compassion and hostility among the general public, farmers, and veterinarians, due to the cruelty, violence, and amplitude of the trade.
On one hand, several governments are concerned and they are suspending the export of skins to China. On the other hand, some governments validate the “state-of-the-art” abattoir projects set up by Chinese interests and “specialists.”

 

Download “On the Trail” n°18

 

 

 

 

Imprimer cet article Imprimer cet article

La défaunation en mouvement

24 nov. 2017

« A la Trace » n°18
Bulletin trimestriel d’information et d’analyses sur le braconnage et la contrebande d’animaux
748 événements du 1er juillet au 30 septembre 2017
124 pages illustrées
pdf – 4,3 Mo

 

KO et Ciao les ormeaux (Haliotis spp.) – p.5
Le Ministère des pêches sud-africain a suspendu le 7 août l’attribution des permis de pêche. La capture des ormeaux est aux mains des gangs du Cap et de la mafia chinoise. Sur le marché local, le prix au kg atteint 400 US$. Il était de 40 US$ en 2008. La violence et la corruption sont quasiment les seules aujourd’hui à encadrer l’exploitation et la contrebande des gastéropodes marins. Même les élevages sont pillés.
L’Union Européenne et notamment la France, l’Espagne, l’Italie, le Portugal et le Royaume-Uni seraient bien inspirés d’examiner avec attention ce marché noir issu au départ de la pêche de loisirs et de subsistance et d’en tirer les leçons pour prévenir l’extinction des ormeaux et d’autres espèces inféodées aux rochers et à l’estran.

Le baromètre des pirates – p.4-14
Le kg d’hippocampes : 67 US$
Le kg du concombres de mer : 155 US$
Le pouce (2,54 cm) de défense de narval : 250 US$
Le kg de vessie natatoire de totoaba (Annexe I) : 14.000 US$
Le kg d’ailerons de requins-marteaux (Annexe II) : 103 US$
Le kg de civelles (Annexe II) : 2440 US$

Le casse et la casse des tortues – p.15
La météo est très mauvaise pour les tortues marines. Tout y passe, œufs, viande, écailles, carapaces. Aucun océan n’est épargné. Le marché noir de la tortue marine est violent. Un nouveau protecteur des tortues luth sur les plages a été assassiné en Amérique centrale. La plus grosse saisie a été faite à Paris Charles de Gaulle démontrant encore une fois que l’Europe contrairement aux idées reçues est un hub du trafic.

Pangolins – p.37
L’inscription en Annexe I des huit espèces de pangolin est en vigueur depuis le 2 janvier 2017.
En même temps, les saisies d’écailles pendant ce troisième trimestre 2017 atteignent 17.602 kg, un record depuis le lancement de « A la Trace », loin devant le précédent record du troisième trimestre 2016 avec 9888 kg d’écailles saisis.
La demande est très forte et remonte à très loin. En Chine, 716 établissements sont autorisés à prescrire de la parapharmacie à base d’écailles (cf. « A la Trace » n° 15 p.43). Les laboratoires se fournissaient jusqu’alors grâce à des permis CITES vrais ou falsifiés.

© royotto_photography

Lions: feu vert pour les braconniers – p.57
Le déclin des tigres en Asie a un effet domino sur les lions en Afrique. La récente décision prise par l’Afrique du Sud d’autoriser l’exportation annuelle de 800 squelettes de lion d’élevage a déchaîné les braconniers. Les empoisonnements et les mutilations de lions sauvages et d’élevage se multiplient en Afrique australe. Un squelette de lion se vend 3000 US$ sur le marché régional, dix fois plus en Chine où les os de lion se substituent aux os de tigre qui sous des recettes diverses sont réputés guérir les rhumatismes et les pannes sexuelles.
La pression sur les lions est aussi alimentée par la rumeur locale selon laquelle manger du cœur de lion « effraye les ennemis et protège contre les attaques ».

Rhinocéros – p.68
C’est pourtant vrai et c’est sans doute du faux
Il ressort des témoignages de vendeurs et d’antiquaires interrogés par Elephant Action League que sur le marché chinois les cornes sont fausses au moins à 80%, que les articles en vente sur WeChat sont en toc et qu’il est facile de trouver un expert complice pour vous dire que c’est de la corne authentique alors que du premier coup d’œil il sait que c’est du faux. Les faux bijoux ou les fausses antiquités en corne ou les fausses cornes se font avec de la résine, des sabots et du crin de cheval broyés. Les ateliers clandestins sont même arrivés à berner des grandes maisons de vente aux enchères. Quelques prix de ce marché de dupes :

1 bol : 42.000 US$
1 bracelet : 1500 US$
4 bracelets (950 g) : 140 US$/g
Comprimés de poudre : 260 à 440 US$/g
Perles : 117 US$/g
Petite sculpture : 103 US$/g

Pour mémoire, O’Brien senior du gang d’origine irlandaise les Rathkeale Rovers s’y connaît également en fausses cornes (cf. « A la Trace » n°16 p.70).

Eléphants – p.82
– Les saisies augmentent : 15 tonnes pour les mois de juillet, août et septembre 2017.
– Les prix au kg de l’ivoire saisi baissent selon les services fiscaux des pays d’intervention.
Il est trop tôt pour tirer des enseignements de ces cotations officielles qui concernent exclusivement les éléphants d’Afrique (Loxodonta africana). A Kampala (Ouganda), le kg d’ivoire brut est coté à 112 US$/kg en août alors qu’en juillet il était à 1470 US$/kg.
– Le braconnage est en augmentation en Afrique australe. En Afrique centrale, dans le bassin du Nil et dans l’Afrique sahélienne, l’ombre portée par les guerres civiles empêche le décompte des morts chez les éléphants et les autres espèces monnayables de la faune sauvage. Il est imprudent de prétendre que le braconnage est en baisse sur le continent africain.
– Les éléphants d’Asie (Elephas maximus) ne sont pas mieux lotis. Ils sont harcelés par l’extension de l’agriculture et des campements illégaux dans les parcs nationaux, entre les parcs nationaux et autour. Le marché noir d’étend à d’autres sous-produits que les défenses des éléphants mâles. Un confetti de peau d’éléphant se vend pour 3,65 US$, soit 5660 US$ par m2 au Myanmar.

Anes en Afrique – p.121
Après le bât, l’abattoir
Le trafic d’ânes domestiques issu de l’espèce sauvage continue par sa cruauté, sa violence et son amplitude à susciter des manifestations de compassion et d’hostilité dans l’opinion publique, chez les agriculteurs et dans le cercle des vétérinaires.
Plusieurs gouvernements s’inquiètent et suspendent d’une main l’exportation des peaux vers la Chine et de l’autre main valident des projets d’abattoirs « modèles » montés par des intérêts et des « spécialistes » chinois.

 

Télécharger « A la Trace » n°18.

 

 

 

Imprimer cet article Imprimer cet article