- Robin des Bois - http://www.robindesbois.org/en -

Grimaldi Lines in Sète and Marseille!

Grande America, Press Release n°9

Like the Grande America, which is polluting the seabed in the Bay of Biscay and like the Grande Nigeria, which is heading towards West Africa after a dozen so-called “minor” deficiencies have been identified on board by the Vessel Safety Center of Le Havre, a new specimen of the Grimaldi Lines fleet is approaching the French coast.

The Repubblica del Brasile is expected on March 27, 2019 in Sète and on March 28 in Marseille. She should then reach the Italian ports of Genoa, Livorno, and Salerno before starting her African tour: Casablanca, Nouakchott, Dakar, Abidjan, Tema, Lome, Cotonou, and Lagos.

On the service including northern European ports, the ship had been detained in Emden (Germany) in 2010 and since then, various deficiencies have been pointed out on-board: 13 in Tilbury (United Kingdom), four in Hamburg, and six in Antwerp concerning firefighting equipment, breaches of the MARPOL regulations on pollution prevention, and the availability of lifeboats. Ports on the Mediterranean service are less attentive. They are also more reckless; the last deficiency on the Repubblica del Brasile, reported in March 2017 in Setubal (Portugal), was “a crack in the hull of the vessel impairing seaworthiness” but it did not lead to detention of the ship. The origin of this crack, its capacity to spread, and the repair conditions are not known to Robin des Bois.

The Repubblica del Brasile has not been inspected in a European port since August 16, 2018. Known in databases as a car carrier, the ship transports many used cars and vans. She also transports containers.

Robin des Bois wishes the Vessel Safety Centers in Sète or Marseille to carry out a thorough inspection, particularly with regard to fire risks and, if necessary, with the assistance of a fire brigade. The aim is to know if the ship is equipped with all the necessary firefighting equipment and if the crew has all the information and personal protective equipment to fight fires and protect themselves from toxic vapors.

Grimaldi Lines’ cargoes are at high risk. Electronic Waste and tires are sometimes loaded into the trailers of the trucks being transported. Refer to the photos of the Repubblica del Brasile and her unloading taken in Abidjan on March 28, 2018.

[1]

Repubblica del Brasile in Abidjan on March 28, 2018 © C. Nithart / Robin des Bois

[2]

Unloaded tires from Repubblica del Brasile in Abidjan on March 28, 2018 © C. Nithart / Robin des Bois

 

See previous press releases on the Grande America:
South of Brittany: Grande America ablaze [3]. March 11, 2019
The sinking of [4]Grande America [4]. March 12, 2019
The Grande America in the spotlight [5]. March 15, 2019
The Grande America: Grimaldi Lines took too much acid [6]. March 15, 2019
The Grande America: Safety First [7]. March 18, 2019
Grimaldi’s “Grande” pending departure and arrival in Le Havre [8]. March 18, 2019
The Grande America – request for lifting doubts regarding sealed radioactive sources [9]. March 19, 2019
Grande America: Inventory of Hazardous and Other Materials [10]. March 21, 2019

- Robin des Bois - http://www.robindesbois.org -

Grimaldi Lines à Sète et à Marseille !

Grande America, communiqué n°9

Comme le Grande America qui pollue le fond de la mer dans le golfe de Gascogne et comme le Grande Nigeria qui fait route vers l’Afrique de l’Ouest après qu’une dizaine de déficiences dites « mineures » aient été relevées à bord par le Centre de Sécurité des Navires du Havre, un nouveau spécimen de la flotte Grimaldi Lines s’approche des côtes françaises.

Le Repubblica del Brasile est attendu le 27 mars 2019 à Sète et le 28 mars à Marseille. Il devrait toucher ensuite les ports italiens de Gênes, Livourne et Salerne avant d’entamer son périple africain : Casablanca, Nouakchott, Dakar, Abidjan, Tema, Lomé, Cotonou et Lagos.

Sur le service touchant les ports d’Europe du Nord, il avait été détenu à Emden (Allemagne) en 2010 et depuis des déficiences diverses sont relevées à bord : 13 à Tilbury (Royaume-Uni), 4 à Hambourg, 6 à Anvers concernant les moyens de lutte anti incendie, des infractions à la réglementation Marpol sur la prévention des pollutions, la disponibilité des embarcations de sauvetage. Les ports du service Méditerranée sont moins regardants. Ils sont aussi plus téméraires : la dernière déficience sur le Repubblica del Brasile constatée en mars 2017 à Setubal (Portugal) concernait « une fissure dans la coque du navire susceptible d’affecter la navigabilité » mais elle n’a pas entrainé de détention. L’origine de cette fissure, ses capacités de propagation et les modalités de réparation ne sont pas connues de Robin des Bois.

Le Repubblica del Brasile n’a pas été inspecté dans un port européen depuis le 16 août 2018. Connu dans les bases de données comme un voiturier, il embarque beaucoup de voitures et d’utilitaires usagés. Il transporte aussi des conteneurs.
Robin des Bois souhaite que les Centres de Sécurité des Navires de Sète ou de Marseille effectuent une visite approfondie notamment au regard des risques incendie et si nécessaire avec l’assistance des pompiers. Le but est de savoir si le navire est doté de tous les moyens d’extinction et si l’équipage dispose de toutes les informations et équipements de protection individuelle pour lutter contre les incendies et se protéger des vapeurs toxiques.

Les cargaisons des Grimaldi Lines sont à haut risque. Des Déchets d’Equipements Electriques et Electroniques et des pneus sont parfois chargés dans les remorques des camions transportés. Voir à ce sujet les photos du Repubblica del Brasile et de son déchargement prises à Abidjan le 28 mars 2018.

 

[1]

Repubblica del Brasile à Abidjan le 28 mars 2018 © C. Nithart / Robin des Bois

[2]

Des pneus déchargés du Repubblica del Brasile à Abidjan le 28 mars 2018 © C. Nithart / Robin des Bois

 

Au sujet du Grande America :
Sud Bretagne : Grande America en feu [3], 11 mars 2019
Naufrage du Grande America [4], 12 mars 2019
Le Grande America sous les feux de la rampe [5], 15 mars 2019
Grimaldi a pris trop d’acide [6], 15 mars 2019
Grande America : safety first [7], 18 mars 2019
Des « Grande » de Grimaldi en instance de départ et d’arrivée au Havre [8], 18 mars 2019
Grande America – demande de levée de doute sur les sources radioactives scellées [9], 19 mars 2019
Grande America : inventaire des matières dangereuses et autres [10], 21 mars 2019 – 17:35