- Robin des Bois - http://www.robindesbois.org/en -

The Grande America: Safety First

The Grande America, press release n°5.

As an NGO that has been keeping up with the kinetics of high or low intensity oil spills for 30 years, Robin des Bois advises people of good will to not engage in the collection of oil, algae or contaminated solid waste when they reach the shore.

– The composition of the Grande America ‘s bunker fuel is not precisely known. Illegal trafficking of contaminated fuel oil has been rampant in the shipping world for several months.
– The Grande America may have carried hydrocarbons other than bunker fuel and diesel for generators. Lubricants and other flammable or toxic cargoes such as liquid or water-soluble pesticides are likely to leak from the Grande America’s containers and mix with hydrocarbons drifting at sea.
– In the coming weeks, drums or cans of toxic products could also wash up on the shoreline. It is absolutely recommended to stay away from them. They must be reported as soon as possible to the local authorities.

In any case, volunteers should not expose themselves to the various associated health risks which have already been reported during previous oil spills, such as skin rashes, eye irritations, migraines or nausea. It is up to the State, in coordination with the local authorities and at the expense of the shipowner Grimaldi Lines, to implement the necessary resources for collection, to mobilize skilled and protected staff (masks, special gloves, overalls, boots, etc.), to organize gathering and storage in watertight containers on the upper beach prior to regulatory transport and disposal of the waste.

See previous press releases on the Grande America:
South of Brittany: Grande America ablaze [1]. March 11, 2019
The sinking of [2]Grande America [2]. March 12, 2019
The Grande America in the spotlight [3]. March 15, 2019
The Grande America: Grimaldi Lines took too much acid [4]. March 15, 2019

- Robin des Bois - http://www.robindesbois.org -

Grande America : safety first

Grande America, communiqué n°5

En tant qu’ONG suivant depuis 30 ans la cinétique des marées noires de grande ou faible intensité, Robin des Bois déconseille aux personnes de bonne volonté de se livrer au ramassage des hydrocarbures, des algues et des déchets solides souillés quand ils toucheront le littoral.
– La composition du fuel de propulsion du Grande America n’est pas connue avec précision. Un trafic de fuel frelaté sévit depuis quelques mois dans le monde du shipping.
– Le Grande America transportait peut être d’autres hydrocarbures que le fuel de propulsion et le diesel des groupes électrogènes. Des lubrifiants et d’autres cargaisons inflammables ou toxiques comme des pesticides liquides ou solubles dans l’eau sont susceptibles de s’échapper des conteneurs du Grande America et de se mélanger aux hydrocarbures dérivant en mer.
– Au fil des semaines, des fûts ou bidons de produits toxiques peuvent également s’échouer sur le littoral. Il est absolument recommandé de ne pas s’en approcher. Ils doivent être signalés au plus vite aux autorités locales.

En tout état de cause, les bénévoles ne doivent pas s’exposer à des risques sanitaires divers comme des éruptions cutanées, des irritations oculaires, des migraines ou des nausées, symptômes qui ont déjà été relevés dans le cas de marées noires précédentes. C’est à l’Etat en liaison avec les collectivités et aux frais de l’armateur Grimaldi Lines de mettre en œuvre les moyens nécessaires à la collecte, de mobiliser le personnel compétent et protégé (masques, gants spéciaux, combinaisons, bottes), d’organiser le regroupement dans des bennes étanches en haut de plage avant transport et élimination réglementaires des déchets.

XXX

Voir les précédents communiqués sur le Grande America :
Sud Bretagne : Grande America en feu [1], 11 mars 2019
Naufrage du Grande America [2], 12 mars 2019
Le Grande America sous les feux de la rampe [3], 15 mars 2019
Grimaldi a pris trop d’acide [4], 15 mars 2019