- Robin des Bois - http://www.robindesbois.org/en -

Fessenheim : To be shut down or not ?

In any event, an immediate decision on the closure or continued operation of the nuclear center in Fessenheim is imperative. Fessenheim does not make tea. Operators and contractors are responsible for handling of radioactive fuel and monitoring of nuclear fission. The staff has been under pressure for a year now, which is absolutely inconsistent with the serenity and concentration required when working at a nuclear plant. Prolonging the uncertainty is irresponsible of the government.

The handling, storing, and transport of hydrogen peroxide leads to many accidents and releases of exothermic vapors that have could potentially cause burns to employees and first-aid attendants every year. Such accidents occur in paper mills, agribusiness, and water purification centers.

Hydrogen peroxide used in industry is not available in retail. It has nothing to do with the peroxide you can find in a local pharmacy. Hydrogen peroxide from pharmacies is a manipulation of language coined by communication services of the State and EDF.

To our knowledge this was the first time that this type of accident occurred in a nuclear plant. However, the Nuclear Safety Authority noted in recent years anomalies or differences in storage and implementations of hydrogen peroxide in Areva and the EDF’s nuclear center Cruas. All nuclear power plants should be subject to the European Seveso directive on chemical risks. Employees affected by the hydrogen peroxide event yesterday afternoon are, unless EDF declares otherwise, external providers that are called in for maintenance. Like in any other sector outsourcing, they have probably not received all the necessary information, directives, and supervision.

While yesterday afternoon at Fessenheim there was no initial risk for radioprotection workers and populations, the hydrogen peroxide vapors are flammable and the risk of fire or an explosive reaction with other hazardous materials was real. A domino effect of instantaneous kinetic energy could dramatically deteriorate operation of the reactor in use and trigger a state of radiological emergency.

- Robin des Bois - http://www.robindesbois.org -

Fessenheim : on la ferme ou pas !

En tout état de cause, une décision immédiate sur la fermeture ou la prolongation de l’exploitation de la centrale nucléaire de Fessenheim est impérative. Fessenheim ne fabrique pas de la tisane. Les opérateurs et les sous-traitants sont responsables de la manipulation de combustibles radioactifs et de la surveillance de la fission nucléaire. Depuis un an, le personnel est sous pression, ce qui est absolument contradictoire avec la sérénité et la concentration requises quand on travaille dans une centrale nucléaire. Prolonger l’incertitude est irresponsable de la part du gouvernement.

nuk-RobindesBois [1]

La manipulation, le stockage, le transport de peroxyde d’hydrogène entraînent chaque année plusieurs accidents et dégagements de vapeurs exothermiques susceptibles de brûler les travailleurs et les secouristes. Ces accidents se produisent dans des papeteries, des usines agroalimentaires, des stations d’épuration d’eaux usées.

Le peroxyde d’hydrogène utilisé dans l’industrie n’est pas disponible dans le commerce de détail. Il n’a rien à voir avec l’eau oxygénée de la pharmacie familiale. C’est par une manipulation de langage que le terme eau oxygénée est employé par la communication des services de l’Etat et d’EDF.

C’est à notre connaissance la première fois que ce type d’accident se produit dans une installation nucléaire. Toutefois, l’Autorité de Sûreté Nucléaire a relevé ces dernières années des anomalies ou des écarts dans les stockages et les mises en œuvre de peroxyde d’hydrogène dans des installations d’Areva et dans la centrale nucléaire d’EDF à Cruas. Toutes les centrales nucléaires méritent d’être assujetties à la directive européenne Seveso sur les risques chimiques. Les salariés touchés hier après-midi à la suite de cet événement peroxyde d’hydrogène sont, sauf démenti d’EDF, des prestataires extérieurs mobilisés dans une opération de maintenance. A l’image de tout le secteur de la sous-traitance, ils n’ont sans doute pas reçu toutes les informations, directives et supervisions nécessaires.

Certes, hier après-midi à Fessenheim il n’y a pas eu de risque initial de radioprotection pour les salariés et les populations, mais les vapeurs de peroxyde d’hydrogène sont inflammables et le risque d’incendie ou de réaction explosive avec d’autres matières dangereuses a été bien réel. Des effets domino à cinétique instantanée auraient pu dégrader brutalement le fonctionnement du réacteur en activité et déclencher un état d’urgence radiologique.