- Robin des Bois - http://www.robindesbois.org/en -

Corrida in Antarctica

Unfortunately the truce is over. The Japanese matadors wearing again their glaucous muletas and fitted with their scientific spears are going for the whales from December 2015 to March 2016, the austral summer. The hunting permit granted by the Minister of Fisheries, Hiroshi Moriyama, authorizes explosive harpoons and if necessary cold harpoons and rifles. Depending on sea conditions, visibility, shooting distance and the first affected organs, the 3 ammunitions are useful and are compatible. One explosive harpoon shot is made. Residues of penthrite (PETN) and overpressure of the explosive within the whale make inedible 300 to 500 kg of meat. To cover up this unacceptable food waste, cold harpoon is used if necessary for the following attack. It causes internal bleeding that reduces the target’s resistance. If necessary, bursts of large caliber bullets riddle the eyes, brain, spinal cord. The apparent death usually occurs between 4 and 20 minutes after. Exceptionally, death throes lasts 1 hour. Concerning brain death, it is more difficult to determine on a complex and developed animal like a whale. The total relaxation of the lower jaw is a reliable indication of death. As a precaution, it is likely but not confirmed in the short description of the hunting permit that an electrical discharge completes the work once the whale is hauled on to the factory ship. They must be sure not to carve up a live whale. It could be dangerous.

Impression [1]

Japanese whaling’s area for 2015-2016. Map Robin des Bois

The whale hunt in Antarctica was suspended after the judgment of the International Court of Justice delivered on 31 March 2014. The Court found that the Japanese scientific program goals could be achieved by other means than the capture and killing of whales and confirmed that the sale of the meat help to finance the expedition to the South Pole. Under restraint during a year the Japanese whaling army went back to war. It targets 333 common Minke whales (Balaenoptera acutorostrata) also called northern Minke whale. Maximum length 10 m, average 7-8 m. Weight: 8 to 13 t. Gestation 10 months. Breast-feeding 5-6 months. At birth, the calf is 2.5 m and weighs 300 kg. The hunting season includes the nursing period and it is not uncommon for a mother and her calf being killed in the same strike. A hunting license does not prohibit the capture of female whales with calves.

New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, United States of America and each member state of the European Union have raised a strong diplomatic protest against the Japanese stance.

By all means, Japan is trying to promote whale meat. Among the latest finds of marketing, a club of 28 exclusive restaurants offering foreign tourists a variety of dishes of unfrozen meat and a professor emeritus claims that eating whale meat prevents Alzheimer’s disease.

- Robin des Bois - http://www.robindesbois.org -

Corrida en Antarctique

Hélas la trêve est finie. Les baleadors japonais reprennent leurs muletas glauques et leurs coutelas scientifiques pour s’acharner sur les baleines de décembre 2015 à mars 2016, l’été austral. Le permis de chasse accordé par le Ministre des Pêches, Hiroshi Moriyama, autorise les harpons explosifs et si nécessaire les harpons froids et les armes à feu. Selon les conditions de mer et de visibilité, la distance de tir, les premiers organes touchés, les 3 munitions sont utiles et peuvent être complémentaires. Un seul tir de harpon explosif est effectué. Les résidus de penthrite et la surpression de l’explosif à l’intérieur de la baleine rendent inconsommables 300 à 500 kg de viande. Pour lutter contre cet inacceptable gaspillage alimentaire, le harpon froid est utilisé en deuxième vague d’attaque. Il provoque des hémorragies internes qui réduisent la résistance de la cible. Si nécessaire, les rafales de gros calibre criblent de balles les yeux, le cerveau, la moelle épinière. La mort apparente survient généralement entre 4 et 20 minutes après. Exceptionnellement, ça dure 1h. La mort cérébrale est difficile à déterminer sur un être aussi complexe et sophistiqué qu’une baleine. Le relâchement total de la mâchoire inférieure est un indice de mort fiable. A titre de précaution, il est probable mais ce n’est pas confirmé dans le descriptif sommaire du permis de chasse, qu’une décharge électrique parachève le travail une fois que la baleine est hissée sur le bateau-usine. Il faut être sûr de ne pas dépecer une baleine vivante. Ça peut être dangereux.

Impression [1]
Périmètre de chasse baleinière japonaise 2015-2016. Carte Robin des Bois

La chasse à la baleine en Antarctique avait été suspendue après l’arrêt de la Cour Internationale de Justice rendu le 31 mars 2014. La Cour estimait que les objectifs du programme scientifique japonais pouvaient être atteints par d’autres moyens que la capture et la mise à mort des baleines et confirmait que la commercialisation de la viande aidait à financer les expéditions maritimes vers le Pôle sud. Après avoir rongé ses freins pendant un an, l’armée baleinière japonaise est repartie à l’attaque. Elle vise 333 rorquals de Minke (Balaenoptera acutorostrata) dits aussi rorquals à museau pointu ou petits rorquals. Longueur maximale 10 m, moyenne 7-8 m. Poids : 8 à 13 t. La gestation dure 10 mois. La période d’allaitement 5-6 mois. A la naissance, le baleineau mesure 2,5 m et pèse 300 kg. La période de chasse inclut la phase d’allaitement et il n’est pas rare qu’une mère et son baleineau soient tués dans la même frappe. Le permis de chasse n’interdit pas la capture des baleines femelles suitées.

La Nouvelle-Zélande, l’Australie, les Etats-Unis d’Amérique, l’Afrique du Sud et tous les pays de l’Union Européenne ont immédiatement adressé une vive protestation diplomatique contre la posture japonaise.

Par tous les moyens, le Japon tente de faire la promotion de la viande de baleine. Parmi les dernières trouvailles du marketing, un club de 28 restaurants huppés propose aux touristes étrangers des plats variés de viande décongelée et un professeur émérite prétend que la consommation de la viande de baleine prévient la maladie d’Alzheimer.