Something is moving in wood

1 Oct 2016

Press release n°3

CITES – Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora
17th Conference of the Parties. Johannesburg – South Africa
September 24 to October 5, 2016

Good news for tropical forests. Three important changes.

1- Dalbergia
It was feared that China would oppose. Trade in Dalbergia, commonly known as rosewood or red wood (“hongmu” in Chinese) had been booming in the world’s biggest importer. 10,000 producers of furniture and decorative objects are in activity in China, transforming “hongmu”. The industry employs one million people and generates 7 billion US$ in revenue per year. The Dalbegia odorifera, the most prestigious species, is sold at present for 1.5 million US$ per m3. Ordinary species are sold between 10,000 and 40,000 US$ per m3. After China, the United States and Europe are the main importers.

The genus Dalbergia is composed of 304 species of trees, bushes and vines among which 250 from tropical countries. Eight species are found in French Guyana, Martinique and Guadeloupe.

Dalbergia melanoxylon is the favored wood for flutes, oboes, clarinets and xylophones.

The proposal formed by Guatemala, Argentina, Brazil and Kenya to consolidate all Dalbergia species in Appendix II which obliges export and import countries to deliver permits was finally accepted by consensus. China kept quiet. Guyana State put forward that present use of Dalbergia is sustainable yet did not oppose the consensus.

Dalbergia flowers attract bees, beetles, butterflies, birds, ants… and pangolins in Africa and Asia. The roots withhold nitrogen and ensure the ground’s fertility. Dalbergias are essential to tropical systems.

In central America, India, Cambodia, Vietnam, Myanmar, Madagascar, the cutters, stevedores, truck drivers or boatmen sell day after day thousands of m3 towards unsealed borders and container ship docks.

Up to now, only 61 species of Dalbergia were listed in the CITES Appendices. Logging companies would take advantage from custom’s incapacity to sort the species free of any administrative constraints and the protected ones. Difficulty in indentifying the species added to the confusion.

Inscription of all the species belonging to the Dalbergia genus to Appendix II- Dalbergia nigra being in Appendix I since 1992- will ease detection of smuggling and slow down logging that’s gotten out of control.

2- Barwood
Barwood or vène (Pterocarpus erinaceus), also sought for by Chinese carpentry- one million trees cut down and exported each year from West Africa- was also listed in Appendix II by consensus following a proposal formed by 10 countries of West Africa, Chad and the European Union. A portion of barwood traffic funds rebel militias.

3- Bubingas
Following a proposal from Gabon and the European Union, 3 Bubingas (Guiboourtia tessmannii, G. pellegriniana, G. demeusei) also called for in China and assimilated to the “hongmu” category have been listed in Appendix II. Here again, at the condition that all administrative authorities in the species range States (Cameroon, Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ghana, Nigeria) be sufficient, vigilant and uncompromising, unlawful and unregistered logging of bubingas be seriously stopped and punished.

What is good for tropical forests is not always so for the forests of temperate regions. Beware of the carry-over effect so as to meet the fanatic demand for wood in China, it would be wise that the European Union prepare to propose listing of certain species like oak and beech to the CITES Appendices.


See as well
The chameleon WWF, September 29, 2016
Anticorruption release, September 23, 2016





Imprimer cet article Imprimer cet article

Ça bouge dans le bois

1 oct. 2016

Communiqué n°3

CITES – Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d’extinction
17ème Conférence des Parties. Johannesburg – Afrique du Sud
24 septembre – 5 octobre 2016

 

Trois bonnes nouvelles pour les forêts tropicales.

1 – Dalbergia
L’opposition de la Chine était redoutée. Le marché des Dalbergia, communément appelés bois de rose ou palissandre ou encore bois rouge (« hongmu » en chinois) a explosé chez le premier importateur mondial. 10.000 producteurs de meubles et d’objets décoratifs sont à l’œuvre en Chine et transforment le « hongmu ». La filière emploie un million de personnes et dégage 7 milliards d’US$ de revenus par an. Le Dalbergia odorifera, l’espèce la plus prestigieuse, se vend aujourd’hui 1,5 million d’US$ par m3. Les espèces ordinaires se vendent entre 10.000 et 40.000 US$ le m3. Après la Chine, les Etats-Unis et l’Europe sont les principaux importateurs.

Le genre Dalbergia regroupe 304 espèces d’arbres, d’arbustes et de lianes dont 250 dans les pays tropicaux. Huit espèces sont présentes en Guyane, en Martinique et en Guadeloupe.

Le Dalbergia melanoxylon est le bois favori des flûtes, des hautbois, des clarinettes et des xylophones.

La proposition du Guatemala, de l’Argentine, du Brésil et du Kenya de regrouper toutes les espèces de Dalbergia sous la tutelle de l’Annexe II qui oblige les pays exportateurs et importateurs à délivrer des permis a finalement été acceptée par consensus. La Chine s’est tue. Le Guyana a soutenu que l’exploitation actuelle des Dalbergia était durable mais ne s’est pas opposé au consensus.

Les fleurs des Dalbergia attirent les abeilles, les scarabées, les papillons, les oiseaux, les fourmis… et les pangolins en Afrique et en Asie. Les racines fixent l’azote et assurent la fertilité des sols. Les Dalbergia sont indispensables aux écosystèmes tropicaux.

En Amérique centrale, en Inde, au Cambodge, au Vietnam, au Myanmar, à Madagascar, les coupeurs, débardeurs, camionneurs ou bateliers écoulent jour après jour des milliers de m3 vers les frontières passoires ou les terminaux de porte-conteneurs.

Jusqu’alors, seules 61 espèces de Dalbergia étaient inscrites aux Annexes de la CITES. Les compagnies forestières profitaient de l’incapacité des douaniers à faire le tri entre les espèces libres de toutes contraintes administratives et les espèces réglementées. Les difficultés d’identification favorisent la confusion.

L’inscription de toutes les espèces du genre Dalbergia à l’Annexe II – le Dalbergia nigra est en Annexe I depuis 1992 – va faciliter le dépistage de la contrebande et freiner une exploitation débridée.

2 – Le bois de vène
Le bois de vène (Pterocarpus erinaceus) ou palissandre du Sénégal, lui aussi recherché par l’ébénisterie chinoise – un million d’arbres abattus et exportés chaque année depuis l’Afrique de l’Ouest – a été lui aussi inscrit à l’Annexe II par consensus sur proposition de 10 pays d’Afrique de l’Ouest, du Tchad et de l’Union Européenne. Une partie de l’exploitation du bois de vène alimenterait les caisses des milices rebelles.

3 – Bubingas
Sur proposition du Gabon et de l’Union Européenne, 3 espèces de bubingas (Guibourtia tessmannii, G. pellegriniana, G. demeusei) elles aussi réclamées par la Chine et assimilées à la catégorie des « hongmu » ont été inscrites à l’Annexe II. Là encore, à la condition que toutes les autorités administratives des pays de l’aire de répartition (Cameroun, Congo, Guinée équatoriale, Gabon, République Démocratique du Congo, Ghana, Nigéria) soient suffisantes, vigilantes et intransigeantes, l’exploitation illicite et non documentée des bubingas devrait être sérieusement entravée et sanctionnée.

Ce qui est bon pour les forêts tropicales ne l’est pas forcément pour les forêts tempérées. Gare aux effets de report et pour endiguer la demande forcenée de bois de la Chine, il serait prudent que l’Union Européenne se prépare à proposer à la CITES l’inscription à l’Annexe II de certaines espèces comme les chênes et les hêtres.

Voir aussi :
Le caméléon WWF, 29 septembre 2016
Communiqué anti-corruption, 23 septembre 2016

 

 

 

 

Imprimer cet article Imprimer cet article