- Robin des Bois - http://www.robindesbois.org/en -

Cherbourg Alarms

N°1

The Russian tuna seiner Marginella has been immobilized at Cherbourg since July 2007. After leaving Kaliningrad (Russia), she was heading towards South Africa via Ghana to fish bluefin and tropical tuna, under dubious conditions in regard with the conformity to the regulations of ICCAT (International Commission for the Conservation of Atlantic Tunas). She suffered outbreaks of fire in the machinery space in the North Sea and the English Channel, resulting in a total propulsion failure. She had to be towed to port by Abeille Liberté.

Now reduced to a mere wreck and a barely floating object, the plan is to tow her to the port of Klaipeda (Lithuania). The only possible fate for the old tuna fishing trawler, built in 1895, is demolition. Klaipeda is a ship-breaking port for fishing vessels from Northern Europe. The voyage of 1700 km through busy and often dangerous sea routes exposes the Marginella to the risk of shipwreck. Consequently, Robin des Bois wishes for the demolition of the hull in a ship-breaking yard nearby, either a steady one like in Ghent, Belgium, or a one-time facility in Cherbourg. In terms of security, the latter would be the best option. Before her destruction, Marginella shall be subject to a mapping of asbestos aboard.

Marginella_cherbourg_2008_robin-des-bois [1]Marginella, at Cherbourg, September 25, 2008. © Gillian Moye

N°2

The former Dutch barge Frisian Lady used to carry bulk on the Rhine river and inland waterways has been immobilized at Cherbourg since the beginning of November. Renamed Queen Esther, homeport Kribi and flying the flag of Cameroon, she aimed to reach Africa after departing the English port of Portsmouth but was forced to take refuge in Cherbourg for security reasons. The former Frisian Lady had a commercial license to work in Europe in all inland waters until 2015.

This type of riverboat, with a flat-bottom and a low draught, is obviously not designed to face a transocean voyage. Dozens of ships of this type are subject to transfers, in tow, which often results in shipwreck before their arrival in Africa (see more on this topic on page 4 of Ship-Breaking #33: “When European river barges sail at sea … and sink”); one of them, Vestland, sunk off the coast of Brittany in September 2011, and had 7 tons of fuel aboard. Should Queen Esther wrongly receive authorization to resume her journey, cross the Raz Blanchard, pass the Pointe du Raz, and sail through the Bay of Biscay to reach Cameroon, she will have three men and nine tons of oil aboard. Robin des Bois wrote to the Maritime Authorities of the Channel/North Sea and the Atlantic on November 25th asking for the prohibition of the transit of these ships through the French territorial waters and Exclusive Economic Zone. There is a much safer way to transfer these ships halfway around the world if the owners want to: through barge carriers, or heavy load carriers.

frisian-lady_cherbourg_queen-esther_robin-des-bois [2]Frisian Lady, at Portsmouth, July 31, 2009

© Scott Waddington

cherbourg_queen-esther-2_robin-des-bois

Queen Esther, at Cherbourg,  December 2013

© Robin des Bois

 cherbourg_queen-esther_robin-des-bois [3]

- Robin des Bois - http://www.robindesbois.org -

Alertes à Cherbourg

N°1
Le thonier russe Marginella est immobilisé à Cherbourg depuis juillet 2007. Parti de Kaliningrad (Russie), il se rendait en Afrique du Sud via le Ghana pour pêcher du thon rouge et du thon tropical dans des conditions douteuses du point de vue de la conformité à la réglementation de la CICTA (Commission Internationale pour la Conservation des Thonidés de l’Atlantique). Il a été victime en mer du Nord et dans la Manche de départs d’incendie dans le compartiment machines et d’une panne totale de propulsion. Il avait dû être remorqué par l’Abeille Liberté.

Aujourd’hui réduit à l’état d’épave et d’objet à peine flottant, il est envisagé de le laisser partir en remorque pour le port de Klaipeda (Lituanie). La seule destinée possible pour le vieux thonier construit en 1985 est la démolition. Klaipeda est un port de démolition des bateaux de pêche de l’Europe du Nord. Ce voyage d’environ 1700 km à travers des mers fréquentées et dangereuses exposera le Marginella à des risques de naufrage. En conséquence, Robin des Bois souhaite une démolition de cette coque dans un chantier de proximité, qu’il soit fixe comme à Gand en Belgique ou ponctuel à Cherbourg. En terme de sécurité, cette dernière option serait la meilleure. Avant sa destruction, le Marginella doit faire l’objet d’une cartographie de l’amiante embarqué.

Marginella_cherbourg_2008_robin-des-bois
Marginella
, Cherbourg, 25 septembre 2008. © Gillian Moye

N°2
L’ex péniche hollandaise Frisian Lady employée pour le transport de vrac sur le Rhin et dans les canaux est immobilisée à Cherbourg depuis début novembre. Rebaptisée Queen Esther, port d’attache Kribi, pavillon camerounais, elle avait pour ambition de rejoindre l’Afrique depuis le port anglais de Portsmouth et elle a été obligée de se réfugier à Cherbourg pour des raisons de sécurité. L’ex Frisian Lady dispose d’une licence commerciale pour travailler en Europe dans toutes les eaux intérieures jusqu’en 2015.

Ce type de navire fluvial, sans tirant d’eau, à fond plat, n’est évidemment pas conçu pour affronter un voyage transocéanique. Des dizaines de navires de ce type font l’objet de transferts, en remorque, qui se soldent souvent par des naufrages avant l’arrivée en Afrique (voir à ce sujet A la casse n°33, « Quand les péniches européennes prennent la mer… et l’eau p 4 [1]); l’un d’entre eux, le Vestland, a fait naufrage au large de la Bretagne en septembre 2011, il avait 7 tonnes de fioul à bord. La Queen Esther, si elle reçoit à tort l’autorisation de reprendre la mer, de passer le raz Blanchard, de franchir la pointe du Raz, de traverser le golfe de Gascogne et de rejoindre le Cameroun aura à son bord trois hommes et neuf tonnes de fioul. Robin des Bois a écrit le 25 novembre aux Préfets maritimes de la Manche / Mer du Nord et de l’Atlantique pour qu’ils interdisent le transit dans les eaux territoriales et la Zone Economique Exclusive française de ce type de navires. Il existe un moyen très sûr de les transférer au bout du monde si des propriétaires le souhaitent : ça s’appelle des porte-barges ou des transporteurs de colis lourds.

frisian-lady_cherbourg_queen-esther_robin-des-bois [2]Frisian Lady, Portsmouth, 31 juillet 2009
© Scott Waddington
cherbourg_queen-esther-2_robin-des-bois
Queen Esther
, Cherbourg, le 2 décembre 2013
© Robin des Bois
 cherbourg_queen-esther_robin-des-bois [3]