“On the Trail” n°21, the defaunation bulletin

31 Jul 2018

Quarterly information and analysis report on animal poaching and smuggling
792 events from the 1th April to the 30 of June 2018
124 pages, 4,7 Mo

– India, land of opposites. Indian Railways requires some trains to slow down in order to reduce collisions with elephants, and Radio Dhoom FM publishes an elephant on the move report twice a day to reduce conflicts with people. At the same time, leopard lynching is multiplying. Exception five years ago, banality today.

– Illicit traffics are mixed-up. Seizure in a sea container of 630 kg of pangolin scales and 2660 kg of mercury.

– For the border crossing of small quantities of ivory or other endangered animal parts, minors are often recruited. In penal terms, they risk nothing, no prison, no fine. For large quantities, the traffic is often done under the cover of “waste to be recycled”.

Sea Cucumbers p.7
The European Union’s proposal to include a few sea cucumber species in Appendix II is going to cause a stir. China, on the tune “Don’t touch my sea cucumbers”, is resolutely standing up while noting that the species named in the project are not the most commercialized.
Meanwhile, trafficking rages between Mexico and the United States, in the Indian subcontinent and in the Far East between Russia and China (see also Various Marine Species chapter).

Marine Mammals p.14
Seals continue to be struck to death in northern France. India bans the import of seal pelts and is going to struck to death the Canadian industry.
Just back from Antarctica with 333 Minke whales and 5 foetuses in its bag and hundreds of anecdotal anatomical data in its scientific baggage, the Japanese whaling fleet is doing it again in the Pacific Northwest. 224 whales are in sight.
The native population around the Arctic justify the marine mammals harpooning or shooting by cultural and food traditions, which does not prevent some of their representatives from forging fruitful links with the Russian and Chinese mafias, as shown by the seizure of several hundred narwhal and walrus tusks (cf. p.18).
After a pas de deux, Iceland gave up part of its commercial whaling season for reasons of profitability.

Tortoises p. 19
Trafficking in turtles is driving people crazy. 11,000 Madagascar radiated turtles, CITES Appendix I, $1,500 US each on the world market, are discovered in Tuléar, Madagascar.

Birds p. 27
From the souks of Tunis to the marshes of Iran, via the Camargue in France and the coaches in Colombia, the pink flamingos are in the crosshairs.

All over the world, coloured and songbirds are trapped to feed the caged-up petmania, sicals, sporophiles and toucans in Brazil, sulphur cockatoos in Indonesia, goldfinches in France and Italy. Two vultures were born in a plane connecting South Africa to London; the Irish citizen was smuggling 19 vulture eggs, eagles, buzzards, kites. Raptors are also popular on the market.

Felines p.56
“On the Trail” notes a multiplication of leopard lynching. The plans of prevention and management of conflicts between men and leopards written by naturalists, forestry services and administration are not convincing the younger generations. The crisis is exacerbated by the expansion of agricultural activities, the drought that is pushing leopards towards village water supplies and the drop of their natural preys that are commonly poached. The sum of cruelties contrasts with the reputation of non-violence and tolerance towards animals that contribute to India’s prestige.
It was a foregone conclusion. The decision of the South African Ministry of the Environment, a decision endorsed at the CITES plenary meeting in Johannesburg in October 2016, to export 800 lion skeletons (see “On the Trail” no. 16 p. 54) has whetted the appetites of traffickers and created a sinister suction effect. The killing of wild and especially farmed lions is increasing.

Baby tiger alive but sedated, entered the USA from Mexico, p. 64.

Rhinoceroses p.73
Poaching statistics in Kruger Park are under embargo by order of the South African Ministry of Environment. The trials of the poaching bosses are postponed from year to year. Collusion between poachers, rangers and other law enforcement agencies persists.
Chinese and Vietnamese nationals play a major role in horn conveying.
After a break, poaching resumes in Kaziranga Park, India.
In Viet Nam, two leading specialists in Asiatic traditional medicine knocked out the alleged healing properties of the horns.

Elephants p.82
The rumour of the quarter once again demonstrates the nose for business of the wildlife mafias. They spread the news that elephants’ molars can make hair grow back! Baldness, rheumatism, sexual impotence, menopausal disorders, AIDS, cancer, crooks are casting the net far and wide. They are not interested in rare diseases. In this sense, wildlife mafias have the same strategy as pharmaceutical laboratories.
In Asia, the trend is to exploit by-products other than ivory. The skin is sold by the kg or the cm2. This new outlet puts at risk the females who have no tusk.

 

“On the Trail” Is carried out by Robin des Bois (Robin Hood) with the financial support of the Brigitte Bardot Foundation, the Franz Weber Foundation and of the Ministry of Ecological and Solidarity Transition, France.

“On the Trail” n°21 (pdf – 4,7 Mo)
http://www.robindesbois.org/wp-content/uploads/ON_THE_TRAIL_21.pdf

 

 

Imprimer cet article Imprimer cet article

« A la Trace » n°21, le bulletin de la défaunation

31 juil. 2018

Trimestriel d’information et d’analyses sur le braconnage et la contrebande d’animaux
792 évènements du 1er avril au 30 juin 2018
124 pages, 4,7 Mo

 

– L’Inde, terre des contraires. Indian Railways impose le ralentissement de certains trains pour réduire les collisions avec les éléphants et Radio Dhoom FM publie deux fois par jour un bulletin d’information sur les mouvements d’éléphants pour réduire les conflits avec les gens. En même temps, les lynchages de léopards se multiplient. Exception il y a cinq ans, banalité aujourd’hui.

– Les trafics illicites sont associés. Saisie dans un conteneur maritime de 630 kg d’écailles de pangolin et de 2660 kg de mercure.

– Pour le passage des frontières de petites quantités d’ivoire ou d’autres parties d’animaux menacés d’extinction, les mineurs sont souvent recrutés. Sur le plan pénal, ils ne risquent rien, pas de prison, pas d’amende. Pour les grosses quantités, le trafic se fait souvent sous le couvert de « déchets à recycler ».

Concombres de mer p.7
Le projet de l’Union Européenne de proposition d’inscription à l’Annexe II de certaines espèces de concombres de mer commence à faire des vagues. La Chine, sur l’air de « Touche pas à mes concombres de mer », monte résolument au créneau tout en notant que les espèces nommées dans le projet ne sont pas les plus commercialisées.
Pendant ce temps, le trafic fait rage entre le Mexique et les Etats-Unis, dans le sous-continent indien et en Extrême-Orient entre la Russie et la Chine (cf. également chapitre multi-espèces marines).

Mammifères marins p.14
Les phoques continuent à être frappés à mort dans le Nord de la France. L’Inde interdit l’importation de peaux de phoques et frappe à mort la filière canadienne.
A peine rentrée d’Antarctique avec à son tableau de chasse 333 rorquals de Minke et 5 fœtus et dans ses bagages scientifiques des centaines de données anatomiques anecdotiques, la flotte baleinière japonaise remet ça dans le Pacifique du Nord-Ouest. 224 baleines sont en ligne de mire.
Les populations autochtones de l’Arctique justifient la chasse aux mammifères marins par des traditions culturelles et alimentaires, ce qui n’empêche pas certains de leurs représentants de nouer des liens fructueux avec les mafias russes et chinoises comme le prouve la saisie de plusieurs centaines de défenses de narvals et de morses (cf. p.18).
Après un pas de deux, l’Islande renonce en partie à sa saison de chasse commerciale à la baleine pour des raisons de rentabilité.

Tortues terrestres p. 19
Le trafic de tortues rend fou. 11.000 tortues radiées, Annexe I de la CITES, 1500 US$ à l’unité sur le marché mondial, sont découvertes à Tuléar, Madagascar.

Oiseaux p. 27
Des souks de Tunis aux marais de l’Iran, en passant par la Camargue en France et les autocars en Colombie, les flamants roses sont dans la mire.

Partout sur terre, les oiseaux sont capturés pour alimenter le marché des couleurs et des chanteurs en cage, les sicales, les sporophiles et les toucans au Brésil, les cacatoès soufrés en Indonésie, les chardonnerets en France et en Italie. Deux vautours sont nés dans un avion qui reliait l’Afrique du Sud à Londres ; le citoyen irlandais transportait en contrebande 19 œufs de vautour, d’aigles, de buses, de milans. Les rapaces aussi ont la cote sur le marché.

Félins p.56
« A la Trace » constate une multiplication des lynchages de léopards. Les guides de cohabitation entre les léopards et les activités humaines rédigé par les naturalistes, les services forestiers et les pouvoirs publics ne font pas autorité auprès des jeunes générations. La crise est exacerbée par l’extension des activités agricoles, la sécheresse qui pousse les léopards à se rapprocher des réserves d’eau des villages et la disparition de leurs proies naturelles victimes du braconnage. La somme des cruautés contraste avec la réputation de non-violence et de tolérance envers les animaux qui participe au prestige de l’Inde.
C’était couru d’avance ! La décision du ministère de l’Environnement d’Afrique du Sud, une décision cautionnée lors de la réunion plénière de la CITES à Johannesburg en octobre 2016, d’exporter 800 squelettes de lions (cf. « A la Trace » n°16 p.54) a aiguisé les appétits des trafiquants et créé un sinistre appel d’air. Les tueries de lions sauvages et surtout d’élevage se multiplient.

Bébé tigre vivant mais perclus de sédatifs, entré aux USA depuis le Mexique, p. 64.

Rhinocéros p.73
Les statistiques du braconnage dans le parc Kruger sont sous embargo sur ordre du ministère sud-africain de l’Environnement. Les procès des caïds du braconnage sont reportés d’année en année. La collusion entre les braconniers, les rangers et autres forces de l’ordre persiste.
Les nationaux chinois et vietnamiens jouent un rôle majeur dans le portage des cornes.
Après un répit, le braconnage reprend dans le parc Kaziranga, Inde.
Au Vietnam deux autorités de la médecine traditionnelle asiatique démontent les prétendues vertus curatives des cornes.

Eléphants p. 82
La rumeur du trimestre démontre une fois de plus le sens du business des mafias fauniques. Ne voilà-t-il pas que les molaires des éléphants peuvent faire repousser les cheveux ! Calvitie, rhumatismes, impuissance sexuelle, troubles de la ménopause, sida, cancer, les escrocs ratissent large. Les maladies rares ne les intéressent pas. En ce sens, les mafias fauniques ont la même stratégie que les laboratoires pharmaceutiques.
En Asie, la tendance est à l’exploitation d’autres sous-produits que l’ivoire. La peau se vend au kg ou au cm2. Ce nouveau débouché met en péril les femelles qui ne portent pas de défense.

 

« A la Trace » est réalisé par Robin des Bois avec le soutien financier de la Fondation Brigitte Bardot, de la Fondation Franz Weber et du Ministère de la Transition écologique et solidaire, France
« A la Trace » n°21 (pdf – 4,7 Mo)
http://www.robindesbois.org/wp-content/uploads/A_LA_TRACE_21.pdf

 

 

Imprimer cet article Imprimer cet article